Boss SD-1

Discussion in 'The Tone Zone' started by scozz, Nov 14, 2019.

1. scozz

scozz Well-Known Member

What’s all the hoopla and praise for this pedal. I’ve been playing guitar for 50 years, but just this week I bought my first Boss SD-1 Overdrive pedal.

I’ve used many OD pedals during those years and I have, what I think is one of the the best OD pedal out there,...a Maxon OD9. I’ve owned it for over 20 years. But I keep reading how great the SD1 is, for years and years I’m hearing how great this OD pedal is.

So last week I decided to buy one and check it out,....what a disappointment!! Oh sure it added overdrive like it’s suppose to, but it also added its own tone,....which leaves a lot to be desired!

I have a great sounding amp and the last thing I want is an OD pedal coloring that great tone! I thought it would be a very transparent pedal, a pedal that would add some low levels of gain to enhance an already great sounding amp, not change the tone.

Man was I wrong, you know sometimes the grass looks greener,....but not this time. All I can say is my Maxon is going nowhere, and my SD-1 is going back to the store!

Attached Files:

2. ricksdisconnected

ricksdisconnected Well-Known Member

yeah keep that Maxon. i too have never understood the SD-1 fandom.
    just really doesnt sound so good to me either.

scozz likes this.
  3. pedecamp

pedecamp Well-Known Member