Best way to connect your PODXT LIVE to your AMP ?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by swany, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. swany

    swany New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All


    Can someone briefly tell me the best way to connect your POD XT Live for the best sound possible?


    I Have a Mrshall DSL 100 and Cab and currently connect my Guitar to the Pod and then the POD to the AMP. Is this coorect. I was told i should use the Effects loop inputs in the back of the AMP.


    I just want to get the best distortion (and effects) sound possible but still currently not happy with the sound. Can some help and let me know which leads go where??


    Thanks
     
  2. Murmel

    Murmel Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    4 cable method is the key, google will find the details.
     
  3. Australian

    Australian Green Beret VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15,019
    Likes Received:
    7,587
    have you set it up, so that it compliments your amp? In the manual you have directions to set it up specifically for your combo amp, or if you have a stack you set it up for that etc.
    Using amp setting instead of Line setting. These things make a difference.

    BTW: its the X3Live that does 4cable method. XTlive doesnt do it.
     
  4. Murmel

    Murmel Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    141
    Oh , that´s bad. In that case I would sell it and get an X3Live or a GT10.
     
  5. Constantine

    Constantine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    With the POD xt there only two way to do this.

    1) Plug straight into the amp and use it as a pedalboard. The same as having a wah-dist-flanger-comp-noisegate->amp fox example:)

    2)Plug the POD in your Amps FX Return. This way you you cancel the amps Pre-amp and use only the Power amp. So you'll have a digital modeler for Preamp and a Pair/Quad of EL34s as your Power amp. If you do this, go easy on every Gain/Volume knob, both on your POD and your Amp. Start with every Gain/Vol at 0 on both POD/AMP.

    You should do a little bit more research on the FX loop thing. I don't know if there's a Master bypass button on the POD but if there is DO NOT push if you're plugged into your FX Loop. You don't wanna fry anything :)

    Get as much info as you can. I know people who do this with no problem at all. However...you wanna do this right:)
     
  6. LuredMaul

    LuredMaul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    146
    I use mine in the effects loop for effects only.

    you have to build a bank of patches for this.
     
  7. Salsg

    Salsg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    886
    I run mine (when I use an amp) thru the return of the fx loop. Sounds much better than the front of the amp.
    No issues at all running it that way.
    Only issues to worry about is the output level of the Pod, the gain/level in the amp models are not issues, don't worry about starting them high. One or two of my patches they are all the way up, it's the actual output of the POD to watch, but that I have up pretty high too. Turn down this level if you get distortion. I don't even on max.
    Have your master on the amp set low and turn up from there.
     
  8. swany

    swany New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for the responses. I guess im still a little confused

    So is it safe to say if i use my FX loop ill use the Amps on the POD XT Live and effects. And if i want to use my MArshall Amp ill plug it in at the front.

    To get the best rock sound (distortion), will i get a better sound using the MArshall DSL 100 head (plugged in the front) or should i plug it in the fx loop and use the amps on the Pod??

    Thanks
     
  9. Salsg

    Salsg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    886
    You will get a lot of variety of overdrives and distortions by using the POD for a preamp, while using the DSLs red channel you get that one, but you can tweak it with the PODs pedals and eq.
    For me, I just use the POD for the different amps, and just use my MArshall as a power amp. That way I use the plexi models, the 800 models, and there is a JCM2000 model in there too. I also like using the Vox and Fenders too for the cover band I am in.
     
  10. swany

    swany New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    Im not even sure if i can set up a PDO XT LIVE through the effects loop. I tried but im not getting a clear sound.
     
  11. Salsg

    Salsg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    886
    I'm not sure maybe something peculiar about the DSL.

    How are you connecting it?

    Guitar>pod>into return fx loop of amp>speaker cab

    I don't know if the master volume will control the power amp on the DSL (it does on my 6100)
    Keep the volume on the amp low, like 1 or so, the level ouput on the POD to 0, then slowly bring up the level until you get a sound.
     
  12. swany

    swany New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks salsq

    Up until now i hav just connected Guitar to Pod to Amp (at the front)

    I have now tried Guitar to Pod (using the two outs on the pod to the send and return fx loop at the back of the amp) but not sure if this is correct
     
  13. Salsg

    Salsg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    886
    Only send the mono output into the fx return, don't have the other output going into the send.
    If you are using the guitar in the front of the amp, and want to use the POD thru the fx loop, then the fx send would go into the input of the POD, and the mono output of the POD would go into the fx return.
     
  14. swany

    swany New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Salsq. With your last post which one do you prefer for a better sound?
     
  15. Salsg

    Salsg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    886
    I use the POD into the power amp return and I use the amp modeling. It sounds a lot better than running into the preamp, even with changing the settings on the POD.
    I just got a PA so I've been running the POD into that. Overall it sounds better for the non-Marshall tones, but I think running it into an EL34 power section of my 6100 made the Marshall models sound more authentic, but it hurt the Fender tones.
     
  16. eljeffebrown

    eljeffebrown New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    1,178
    Location:
    Banding, Snorkeling, High Speed Line Skipping, Boo
    As brief as I can be,



    DON'T!
     
  17. carnada

    carnada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    Location:
    22 Acacia Avenue
    maaan why do you buy a DSL if you are gonna use the POD as a preamp and multieffects unit?

    Why not just get a poweramp like the mesa boogie 50/50 stereo tube power amp, and then just plug the POD to that? you would have saved like 700 dollars and the pod would have sounded much better.
     
  18. eljeffebrown

    eljeffebrown New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    1,178
    Location:
    Banding, Snorkeling, High Speed Line Skipping, Boo
    Carnada, he has Two problems a "Mrs-hall" DSL AND a Line 6! :wow::)
     
  19. Australian

    Australian Green Beret VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15,019
    Likes Received:
    7,587
    If he can get that XTlive to sound great with a Marshall then hes a better man than I. The amp and cab simulation is a great idea, but I'm yet to be convinced. It may be countless futile hours spent trying to get it working right, when pedals do the job right out of the box.
     
  20. swany

    swany New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks all. ill see how i go. My gig is in 3 weeks!
     

Share This Page