Anyone Tried More Than 1 Of The 20 Watters?? Studio/dsl/origin??

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by riffpowers, Mar 14, 2019 at 1:52 PM.

1. riffpowers

riffpowers New Member

I'm in the UK and still unable to get hold of any of the new 20 watt marshalls, everywhere is sold out!!

I'm a gigging guitarist who loves jcm800's but finds even the 2204's overpowered for todays gigs.
    I've had loads of 2204's and 2203's, a 1987x (all of which I loved) but never owned a dsl or origin.

I want to try at the very least the new studio classic and the studio vintage, as well as the origin 20 and dsl 20 (which are easier to find)

I wondered if anyone has tried more than 1 of the 20 watters? I'm interested in your impressions of the amps.

2. walshb

walshb Member

I know you didn't ask about the Mini Jubilee, but it still falls into this category. I own a MJ combo and the JCM800 Studio Classic. The SC is much louder and not as versatile, the tone knobs don't work as well as they do on the MJ, and it doesn't have the clean channel. Still sounds good and rolling off the guitar volume cleans it up pretty nicely, but if I had to choose one, the MJ would definitely be the one.

3. Mitchell Pearrow

Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

The only ones I have seen are the 20 watt origins ! Cheers

stringtree likes this.
  4. Len

Len Well-Known Member

To me the DSL20H sounded kinda boxy and I really needed to tweak the controls to get a decent tone out of it.

On the other hand, the SC20H sounds great, with plenty of low end, and sounds great with controls at noon, before tweaking to get more good tones.

stringtree likes this.
  5. slide222

slide222 Well-Known Member

I agree about the mini jube is maybe the most versatile of the 20 watters , but it sure is great that marshall have got on the 20 watter train at long last and given us some choice and I hope they continue

6. Biff Maloy

Biff Maloy Member