Anyone Running An Eq Through Their Fx Loop?

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by Kutt, Jul 25, 2018.

  1. Kutt

    Kutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Noticed an uptick in chatter here and there about running EQ pedals through FX loops on amps. This is something I've never tried but I'm going to.

    If you're doing this, what's your EQ of choice, and on what amp?


    *Feels like more of an amp question than a pedal question, so I'm posting in the amp section. Please move the thread if I have judged in error.
     
  2. xeizo

    xeizo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I haven't, but I will try this tomorrow with my DSL20HR at rehearsal. Just received my Boss GE-7 :) I guess I will run my other pedals in front, but the EQ seems smart to run in the loop.
     
    Kutt likes this.
  3. Ufoscorpion

    Ufoscorpion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,624
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    Yes , if it’s got a loop then it gets a boss GE7 stuck in it .
     
  4. LRT#1

    LRT#1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Yes I've recently started using a older boss ge7 through effects loop and have been impressed I've been able to get a closer sound out of my jcm900 fo the dsl what I don't know is what other pedals can be run through effects loop in series with the ge7
     
  5. JimiRules

    JimiRules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,850
    Likes Received:
    2,765
    Back when I was in a 2 guitar band I ran a Boss GE7 in the loop to boost my volume when I needed to stand out for solos, fills, etc. The amp I was using at the time was a Carvin Legacy. I've since moved onto Marshalls and I'm the lone guitar player in my current band, so I haven't needed to boost my volume.
     
  6. tmingle

    tmingle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Mifflintown, Pa.
    I use an MXR 10 band in the loop of my 40C to tweak tone at lower volumes.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  7. LRT#1

    LRT#1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    As you know a jcm900 doesn't start to get its tone and punch till about 6 or 7 on the volume so the eq alow me to mostly get there through effects loop ar lower wolume
     
  8. Micky

    Micky Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    20,106
    Likes Received:
    16,132
    Location:
    Vermont
    Doesn't everyone run their EQ pedal thru the loop?

    I use a GE-7
     
  9. Kutt

    Kutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Nice. At the moment that's the pedal I'm eyeballing. I like that it has Gain and Volume sliders to compensate as needed.
     
  10. jstich

    jstich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    276
    Micky, I put my eq
    after my dirt box and gate, then into the front of the amp. Works great .
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  11. tmingle

    tmingle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Mifflintown, Pa.
    Watch GC. I got mine used for $75. The frequencies are well selected.
     
  12. ampmadscientist

    ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    12,741
    Likes Received:
    6,629
    Location:
    Left Coast
    4500.png
     
    MonstersOfTheMidway and Kutt like this.
  13. marshallmellowed

    marshallmellowed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    2,554
  14. ricksconnected

    ricksconnected Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    13,388
    Likes Received:
    6,613
    Location:
    everywhere you wanna be.
    yes yes yes
     
  15. Rockcity

    Rockcity Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    93
    Tried thru 1987x. Pretty boring comparing to EQ direct to input jack
     
  16. BowerR64

    BowerR64 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,569
    Likes Received:
    2,485
    What about a sonic maximizer?
     
    Adrian R likes this.
  17. spacerocker

    spacerocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    696
    Location:
    UK
    Yes I use a dbx 131s 31 band EQ in the loop of my JVM!

    I am a big fan of running an EQ in the loop. It is possible to transform the sound of an amp this way. I used to use internal mods (like the 2203 treble-peaker circuit) as part of my changes to make the JVM more 800-like, but for tonal changes, I find an EQ in the loop simpler and more effective!

    The 31 band EQ is completely over-the-top, but I got it because I wanted the high head room and a 1U rack unit. I boost frequencies in the 2-6kHz range and some around 500Hz for a convincing 800 sound. The dbx does give very fine control, and was not much more expensive than an MXR pedal!

    I'm not a big fan of the Boss GE7, and recently sold mine (I sometimes use an EQ infront of the amp as well for certain songs). I found a cheap "Caline" 10 band pedal (MXR10 Clone) works better, and is less noisy than the boss!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2018
  18. matttornado

    matttornado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    367
    I also use a GE7 in my fx loop with my new DSL 40CR. I use it for a le3ad boost but the problem I have i that the level control is so sensitive that it's hard for me to find the right level. I'm looking for something else with knobs! lol
     
  19. Matt_Krush

    Matt_Krush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    693
    Location:
    Saginaw MI
    TC Electronics G-Major & a Behringer Ultra graph.

    I use the G-Major EQ for taking some of the high end off the delay/reverb effects when they get too bright and I use it to really shape the tone instead of the knobs on the head.
    Why?
    I set my head EQ to noon (straight up). If a knob gets tweaked in transport or by an asshole, just set it back to 12 o'clock. No guessing where it was.
    The presets in the JVM don't get bumped.

    The Behringer...is set flat...but if I get to some place that really need serious tweaking that can't be sorted out on the head, those sliders are easier to move than reprogramming patches.

    If I was a pedal person...the MXR 10 band. The con is that it uses 18VDC power supply...No battery compartment. The MXR 6 band is junk. Don't buy it. Noisy and the frequencies I like to adjust aren't there...(I owned one).

    I am sure there are other good pedals...I haven't used them.
     
  20. Jethro Rocker

    Jethro Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,956
    Likes Received:
    6,667
    Location:
    Saskatoon, Canada
    I used to use a Boss GE7 but now run the one on my Zoom G3 multi. I use it with the Silver Jubilees ro get a boost for leads without addinh yet mire level to the front. It makes for a clean boost for volume.

    Also use it sometimes with other amps just ro give a different tone to it. Select it at will.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice