Advice on 1959 build

Discussion in 'Building the Classics' started by Fren, Jul 1, 2019.

1. Fren

Fren New Member

Looking to build a '72 SL with master volume and FX loop mods. I'm looking at the 12 series chassis at Valvestorm, but am wondering which you guys prefer, the one that fits the Belton sockets, or the one that fits the Amphenol sockets. Those chassis use a laydown PT. Which brands/models do you prefer? I figured I'd get the chassis and iron out of the way first.

I've built several amps from kits, but have never sourced the pieces individually. I've heard there's some laydown transformer mojo, but I have no experience there. I had a '72SL years ago that Demeter put a master volume on and it sounded amazing, so I'm trying to recreate that.

Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  2. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum Fren :cheers:.
    I would recommend you only build on a steel chassis and avoid aluminum.
    Amphenol sockets - which sockets specifically?
    Belton sockets are current production. If anything goes bad you need to be able to get parts easily.
    If Amphenol sockets are discontinued, then don't use them because you will have problems buying spares in the future.
    I would recommend only using ceramic sockets if there is a choice.
    You can PM me if you need any info....I'm here.

3. mAx___

mAx___ Active Member

Welcome! I love Valvestorm but I prefer the TubeDepot Marshall 100W chassis. Valvestorm's have an extra hole in the front for a polarity switch that's not needed and looks ugly to me. It also costs more.

(Side question: does anybody know where else to find the tinned 22 awg hookup wire that only Valvestorm seems to have?)

4. Fren

Fren New Member