Adding Cut Control To Trainwreck Express Clone

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by johnfv, Jan 24, 2019.

1. johnfv

johnfv Well-Known Member

I'm a novice with mods, am making some tone tweaks to my TW Express clone - trying to tame the gain/clipping and brightness a bit. I've already made good progress by tweaking various resistor values. I want to try adding a Vox style cut control, my question for the amp build experts is this: how important is the location of a cut pot for minimizing noise? Can I put it on the back panel or is that asking for trouble? Experienced advice/suggestions appreciated.

My amp is a Ceriatone, here is the layout. I intend to keep the presence as is (and mine has a PPIMV on the front panel next to presence). There is plenty of space on the back panel away from the output section.
    [​IMG]

I'm planning to base the cut on Robinette's layout (I do not intend to attach the pot casing to ground/rail but again appreciate advice on this):
    [​IMG]

Thanks in advance!

2. Adieu

Adieu Well-Known Member

If location turns out to be unimportant, you COULD go concentric-stacked.... dual 250k pot should be an easy to find part, so Treble EQ would be a potential placement

PS note: might LOOK sorta like a balance pot, but not the same thing.... independent shafts not single shaft needed

3. johnfv

johnfv Well-Known Member

Interesting idea about the concentric pot but on the Express, none of the other pots are 250K. I'm hoping someone has real world experience with placement on the cut control, if nothing else I'll do some trial and error. I could make room on the front panel if I really need to...

4. ampmadscientist

ampmadscientist Well-Known Member

What schematic are you using for treble cut?

5. Adieu

Adieu Well-Known Member

Seems you can cannibalize other pots and cobble together what you need:

http://www.tdpri.com/threads/fender-cts-concentric-pot-anatomy.436859/

6. mickeydg5

mickeydg5 Well-Known Member VIP Member