Adding A Choke To My 18 Watt Build

Discussion in 'The Workbench' started by myself80, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Hello all!. I have a ClassicTone 3H choke that I would like to add to this amp. After some research, this is what I came up with......

    6V6gt-2204 choke build.jpg

    Can anyone tell me if this is correct before I go for it :)?
    I still need to find a place to mount it. It may have to go under the chassis.
    Is there a better place in the circuit for the choke?
    Thanks in advance

    Cheers!

    *edit Sorry this pic is so big.
     
  2. Guitar-Rocker

    Guitar-Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,738
    Likes Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    The choke should take the place of the 1.5K 5W dropping resistor on your cap can. You may need to then increase your 8.2K dropping resistor to a larger value to keep things consistant.

    What resistive value is your 3H choke?
     
  3. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Hello G.R. I will check the value of the choke later when I get home.
    Thanks for he info:). I read a few articles saying to do exactly what you said. Then I found the schematic above.
    I will go with what you say on this one.

    Cheers!
     
  4. Guitar-Rocker

    Guitar-Rocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,738
    Likes Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    It looks like the Classictone 3H choke is 112R, so if you deduct 112 from 1500 (your 1.5k dropping resistor that will be deleted) you'd end up with @1388R difference. If you up your 8.2k to a 10k it would about even out. IMHO
     
  5. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Thanks G.R. I may even have a couple of the values needed. If not, it's time for a mouser order:).
    I will check the actual value later just to be sure.
    I hope I can find a place to mount it. It will be real close to the speaker if I mount it on top like usual. I believe there was some room inside.
    The 5010 chassis is a bit bigger than a standard plexi chassis.
    on a side note, I went with a Celestion G-12H-55 Heritage 30 watt, 16 ohm (15 actually), in the combo. Very nice speaker!

    Cheers!
     
  6. coldengray

    coldengray Active Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    187
    What made you decide to add a choke?
     
  7. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Mostly because I have one on the shelf. LOL!
    I really just want to hear the difference. It it tightens the amp up a bit, that would be ok. If it sounds bad, I will put the resistor back. :)
    I think the problem is that I need to do another build. I am itching to solder something:).

    Also, G.R. , the choke is 112R just like you said. (111.6 actually).

    Cheers!
     
  8. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    I got the choke installed last night. It was too late to try it and see how it sounds :(. I will be checking it out tonight.
    The choke is mounted directly below and very close to the PT. The windings are opposite of each other, so I should not have a problem with that....I hope:.
    Here are a few pics of the installation:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. myself80

    myself80 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Nassau, Long Island
    Hello All. I hate to bring up an old thread, but the choke was not a great idea!
    The choke has been removed from the amp. At first I heard no difference and thought it was o.k.
    When I installed new pre amp tubes last week (shugang 12ax7 in v1 and v2), I new something was wrong. The amp was completely lifeless.
    It sounded like I never changed the tubes (v1 was a 1960's sylvania testing dead basically). I had a Mullard re-issue in V2 and an EH in V3). So I took it out and put the resistors back.
    Now the amp sounds like I thought it would when building it. I need to play it more to break it in :).
    I guess the choke is not necessary or a good idea in a lower powered amp? It did make the amp very dull.
    Anyway, it was worth the try.

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice