2525H power light fluctuating/ going brighter then dimmer

Discussion in 'Marshall Amps' started by charlysays, Nov 12, 2019.

  1. charlysays

    charlysays Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    49
    I noticed this whilst gigging with it a couple of weeks ago. The amp works fine and is about a year old in mint condition. When left on standby the power light would sometimes go quite dim. If switched off and on again it would stay bright for a while. The amp seemed to work the same regardless of the brightness of the power light. Any ideas?
    Cheers
     
    tce63 likes this.
  2. anitoli

    anitoli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    7,696
    Location:
    Lewiston, Maine U.S.A.
    Satan. :D
     
    MarshallDog and tce63 like this.
  3. Ken Underwood

    Ken Underwood Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    905
    Location:
    Annesley, Nottinghamshire UK
    Without not knowing the amp in detail them any power light that fluctuates in brightness, if the amp is fully operational, then it can only be the light itself, after all the light is strapped across the mains after it leaves the switch.

    Get it to a qualified tech to get it replaced.
     
    El Gringo, K2JLX and Mitchell Pearrow like this.
  4. MarshallDog

    MarshallDog Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12,184
    Likes Received:
    11,448
    Location:
    Taintville
    Its a pretty simple job to change the switch on most Marshalls and they are not that expensive. I would do it myself before it sits at the Techs for a couple weeks!
     
  5. Ken Underwood

    Ken Underwood Well-Known Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    905
    Location:
    Annesley, Nottinghamshire UK
    That depend if you use a decent Tech, any one thats worth its salt will change it quickly as you say its an easy job, but to the unqualified then that tempts problems.

    If they are successful then that give confidence to do something more in the future, they then start to think that they can repair anything.

    Wish it was that simple
     
    El Gringo, Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  6. Thunderslug

    Thunderslug Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    26
    If it’s only a year old and you bought it new then it’s under warranty. Contact Marshall and they should fix it.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  7. dro

    dro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    337
    Location:
    Blue Springs Mo
    Did the rest of the lights in the room dim as well?
    Might be substance intake.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow, El Gringo and tce63 like this.
  8. charlysays

    charlysays Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    49
    It's bang on a year old (marshall warranty is usually 2 years, extendable to 3 yrs by registering with them) however I didn't buy it new. The previous owner is a nice chap and may help me out here though. As I understand it, the owner has to get the amp back to the original retailer and marshall then organise free shipping to and from the retailer which in itself is an annoyance as the nearest marshall dealer is a LONG way away from me, hundreds of miles. As such I may just attempt the ignore strategy for a while as the amp seems to work fine.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  9. charlysays

    charlysays Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    49
    I don't think so no, it seemed to be just the amp. Im using it at rehearsal tonight though so we'll see what happens. I'm sure it'll be fine
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  10. spacerocker

    spacerocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    UK
    Those switches fail sooner or later, and flickering is usually the first sign. It won't affect the rest of the amp. As others have said - fairly easy to change - make sure the amp is switched off, and don't touch anything else inside the amp as high voltages can persist in some amps for a long time after the mains has been switched off
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  11. charlysays

    charlysays Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    49
    You're bang on. If i tap the switch it will flicker. Amp still works fine so it's just the contact running the actual light. Kinda surprised it's packed up at such a young age on an as new amp. I might replace it some day. I'm all good with avoiding the caps and anything I'm not actually working on for that matter don't worry, used to and still do clean out big PA amps and do basic stuff like cleaning switches, pots and fitting new fans.
    Thanks for the advice and reassurance, was worried it indicated a power supply issue within the amp lol
     
    spacerocker and tce63 like this.
  12. dekauve

    dekauve New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have exactly the same amp and the same problem as you. Power light turns on only after 10-15 minutes of using the amp. In my case it is not fluctuating, only on/off. The amp is now two years old. I was also concerned about a possible power problem! How is yours doing now?
    Br
    David
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  13. El Gringo

    El Gringo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Location:
    Shakedown Street
    I want some also
     
    Mitchell Pearrow likes this.
  14. John BNY

    John BNY Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    2,631
    Location:
    New York
    Probably the power switch failing. I had a problem with my JVM where the power light would not switch on for like 5 seconds. I ordered a replacement switch for $6.99 and replaced it myself, and it solved the problem. Assuming the switch is similar to my JVM, it is a very easy job. There is no soldering. You just unplug the wires and plug into the new switch.
     
    Mitchell Pearrow and tce63 like this.
  15. Mitchell Pearrow

    Mitchell Pearrow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    8,408
    Likes Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Moreno Valley CA
    I had this problem with a 2104 in 1979 I replaced and 2 months later the same thing happened again, I just said piss on it and never put another one in!!
    I was Young back then and came to the point that I was done throwing money at a fickle light switch.
    Cheers
    Mitch
     
    tce63 likes this.
  16. Theycallmesabz

    Theycallmesabz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Toronto
    Honestly man I'd try n fix it myself instead of having it sit at the guitar shop for 2 weeks n getting it fixed for 80$
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice