1982 Cab help? - replacing input jack

Discussion in 'Cabinets & Speakers' started by nostalgia_martyr, Jan 22, 2020.

1. nostalgia_martyr

nostalgia_martyr New Member

Quick question (sorry if this has been answered in the forums before, I searched but couldn't find a thread).

I'm replacing a bad input jack on my 1982 cab. Been on there since at least 2005, when I got it (probably twice as long, from the looks of it). It has three solder lugs. Two of them are jumped together. The only one available at my local shop was a 2-lug. I was told in a previous thread that this current jack is NOT the original jack and that a 2-lug should be there instead.

I'm a novice when it comes to this stuff. Just seeking some advice on this. Attached are photos of the current (bad) jack and some photos of the new jack still in the packaging.

Just curious if this replacment is a good fit and if so, how should I go about wiring? Same was the old one, just without the jumper line connecting lugs 1 and 2?

P.S. Cab is wired in PARALLEL (4ohms), with Celestion G12-80s, 15ohm, cone stamp 444, T3103, if that matters to anyone. IMG_4740.JPG IMG_4744.JPG IMG_4748.JPG

Thanks!

2. South Park

South Park Well-Known Member

It is good asked the three prong jack is like a switch it completes a circuit when the plug is not plugged in . The two prong jack cuts the circuit when you unplug it . You need the two prong jack. Both will work you don’t want to go cheap on jacks the high end audio parts work better and last longer. Thar is a lot of cheap parts on the market

nostalgia_martyr likes this.
  3. Scumback Speakers

Scumback Speakers Well-Known Member Sponsor

4. nostalgia_martyr

Yeah, I don't plan on messing with any of the speaker connections. Just wanted to make sure that the top lug on the new jack and bottom lug on the new jack should be attached to the same wires as the old jack.