MarshallForum.com

Go Back   MarshallForum.com > The Amps > Cabinets & Speakers
LIKE MarshallForum on Facebook FOLLOW MarshallForum on Twitter

Old 10-01-2009, 04:48 PM   #1
MartyStrat54
V.I.P. Member

Send a message via Yahoo to MartyStrat54
Everything and Anything About Speakers

Hello. This is another catch all thread about speakers. I have a lot of experience with all sorts of speakers. This thread may work and it may dive, but at least I will know that I've tried.

This thread is about sharing info on how all guitar/bass speakers sound, whether they be Celestion, Eminence, Weber, Tone Tubby, etc.

Not all Celestions sound that good, especially by themselves. This is the latest trend in the speaker business, mating two different sounding speakers together. Eminence is now selling a variety of Tone Packs. These can be seen at Guitar Center and Musician's Friend.

Here are some of my speakers mods. I have installed an Eminence Red Fang alnico speaker in one of my DSL401. The other 401 has a JBL D123 in it.

In one ot my 602's, I have two Altec 417's and in the other 602, I have two JBL D123's.

The JBL's are 1961 models and the 417 is from 1972. Here are some pics.

Front View of JBL D123 (12-inch):
[IMG]http://i615.*******************************************D123b.jpg[/IMG]

Back View of JBL D123 (12-inch):
[IMG]http://i615.*******************************************D123a.jpg[/IMG]

Back View of Altec 417-8H (12-inch)
[IMG]http://i615.*******************************************4178H.jpg[/IMG]

Back View of Eminence Man 'O War speakers (12-inch) in TSL122:
[IMG]http://i615.*******************************************HPIM0689.jpg[/IMG]

Web link with sound clips for Eminence Red Fang (12-inch):

Eminence - The Art and Science of Sound

Front View on Eminence Red Fang (12-inch):
[IMG]http://i615.*******************************************FRTRedFang.jpg[/IMG]