MarshallForum.com

Go Back   MarshallForum.com > The Amps > The Workbench
LIKE MarshallForum on Facebook FOLLOW MarshallForum on Twitter

Old 04-05-2010, 09:58 AM   #1
TwinACStacks

The dsl joey mod thread

Well Gang, because I'm getting weary of emptying my inbox with questions concerning the DSL INFO thread, LOL, I've decided to post the "meat and potatoes" of the Mods for the DSL series without the additional Banter between contributors. Joey Voltage was kind enough to provide some open-source mods which form the basis for the alterations, Along with input from the rest of the resident BRAIN TRUST: JON, JCMJMP and the MAJOR. My Humblest appreciation and Thanx to all of You. These Guys are GREAT to have on your side folks....

Me? I'm an electrician but in NO WAY am I an AMP TECH!! I'm just dangerous enough to try it all. I've owned 5 DSLs in a Love-Hate relationship with the Red and Green Channels. (Actually I'm beginning to believe that this is really a SINGLE CHANNEL AMP with 4 Distinct MODES!!!) THIS time around I decided to call upon the experts to help make it True Love, and we all know True love is hard to find...

FIRST: (AFTER DISCHARGING THE LETHAL VOLTAGES IN YOUR CHASSIS!!!) Determine which version of Boards that Your DSL contains Using this link:
Marshall DSL

There are about 5 different Version (issue) boards used. The mods are centered around the Front Board (Pre) and Tubeboard (Main) and are based on THESE TWO VERSIONS, if yours don't match up you have a different version:

JCM2 60-02 iss5 (Tube) AND JCM2 61-00 iss1 (Front)

Front Board:

NOTE: THESE MODS AFFECT THE RED LEAD 2 MODE ONLY (removing C12 will also darken Lead 1)

1M Resistor from Wiper to Ground on Vr3 ****
C12 Lower to 150pf or REMOVE (I removed it)
C10 replace with .0022 uf
R20 Remove and JUMPER