Marshall Amp Forum
 

Go Back   Marshall Amp Forum > Buy, Sell or Trade > eBay Deals
Click to visit LuthierTalk.com   LIKE MarshallForum on Facebook FOLLOW MarshallForum on Twitter

  

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By demonufo

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-12-2012, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Blacque Jacque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,351
Real or fake ?

Being a born sceptic, I'm leaning toward fake, it just looks a little bit TOO nice for a 40 year old amp if you ask me.

I could be wrong of course & will gladly apologise if I am.

1972 Marshall Valve Amplifier Combo - Vintage and Very Rare - Stunning Condition | eBay
__________________
JMP1+20/20 EL84.......JCM900 1960A
JCM900 SL-X 2500......JCM800 1935B
DSL401 (V30)
Charvels: #2, #4, #4 Tele.
Too much power is almost enough.Turn it up 'till it explodes........then back it off just a touch
Check out The Stand-Ins Demo on ReverbNation.
Blacque Jacque is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Marshall Amps

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Marshall Amp Forum
   
Unread 01-12-2012, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
captcoolaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,363
Re: Real or fake ?

I can not comment on the Marshal but I have a friend who has 2 1956 I think Gibson Amps that are mint. So it could be possible.
__________________
peace and tone

Shut up and play.

Music is an aural experience, it's whats coming out of the speakers that count, not an multimeter or a Gauss meter; my ears are my laboratory. You should try it sometime.


http://mhd-pickups.com/
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/defa...bandID=1235669
captcoolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-12-2012, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mickeydg5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: US of A
Posts: 3,679
Re: Real or fake ?

I saw one on ebay a couple years back, in excellent condition like that one and was signed by Jim. I believe it sold almost double that starting bid price.
mickeydg5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2012, 04:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
demonufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oxford
Posts: 2,216
Re: Real or fake ?

But then the 10W popular amps were never gigging machines and rarely ever left the house, don't forget.

Most of these amps have been converted into fake 18watters by Music Ground, since they were never that popular (ironically), so to find a good one is a bit of a rarity now.
Doesn't look fishy, but then the photo's aren't really detailed enough.
It pretty unlikely to find a fake 10W popular, since most people would have faked an 18watter instead since they command a LOT more money.
Blacque Jacque likes this.
__________________
I have also moved, as I could no longer stand the stench, if your browser doesn't redirect you, please follow the link http://www.marshallheads.com


www.myspace.com/molotovsexbomb
demonufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2012, 05:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Blacque Jacque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,351
Re: Real or fake ?

Thanks for the insight Demonufo, the 10w is an amp I know nothing about, but the 18w I do recognise, that was partly what made me suspicious.

I did check that the seller wasn't Musicground first
__________________
JMP1+20/20 EL84.......JCM900 1960A
JCM900 SL-X 2500......JCM800 1935B
DSL401 (V30)
Charvels: #2, #4, #4 Tele.
Too much power is almost enough.Turn it up 'till it explodes........then back it off just a touch
Check out The Stand-Ins Demo on ReverbNation.
Blacque Jacque is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-13-2012, 06:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
demonufo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oxford
Posts: 2,216
Re: Real or fake ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacque Jacque View Post
I did check that the seller wasn't Musicground first
Why? No love for Leeds finest?

Damn crooks.



Now this one looks suspicious;

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Marshall-P...item2c620bc054
__________________
I have also moved, as I could no longer stand the stench, if your browser doesn't redirect you, please follow the link http://www.marshallheads.com


www.myspace.com/molotovsexbomb

Last edited by demonufo; 01-13-2012 at 07:15 AM.
demonufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Find us on Facebook!   Follow us on Twitter!

Our Network: Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Les Paul Forum | Music Gear Forum | 7 String Guitar Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

MarshallForum proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2005-2013, MarshallForum.com. All Rights Reserved.